Monday, September 28, 2009

vitwater!

         i awoke to the sound of my alarm. 7:15 am, September 26, 2009, saturday. oh, shit.
the rain was pouring down, not too hard, but i knew i had to get to school before it poured harder.
rode the lrt, same as always. took a leisurely walk along aurora blvd, completely unaware of what was to happen.As i neared the school (uerm) it was raining cats and dogs outside, good thing i was already in the vicinity of the school. Took the lift to the third floor, where my groupmates were waiting and studying for our case study that day.

         you see, were never meant to go to school that saturday, heck, i would still be asleep at home if our prof hadn't asked us to come and present on a saturday instead of a monday (not that i blame her).Anyway, at 10 am we all went up to the 6th floor to wait for our prof, there one of my groupmates (aldric) took out a box of cookies for us to eat, which we all consumed with much gusto.

         At around 10 past, our prof arrived carrying a box of donuts... yum! we ate and discussed for a few minutes before it all suddenly went black. (no i didn't faint) the lights went out. uh-oh, this was not good. we stopped and assessed the area. the rain had somehow gotten stronger, the road was flooded ankle-deep. no way you'd make me walk outside like that.

        we all just looked outside, thinking the water will go down eventually. how naive of us to even think we'd be able to go out the building.as we waited for the rain to seize, some of our groupmates went around looking at the back of the school to find what at first we thought was funny, an inova already surrounded by water up to its headlights.


we then looked at the school grounds below and saw that the water was almost reaching the gym. not good at all.we went down to the 4th floor and sat there, the food our prof had ordered arrived a few moments later, when the water was only about knee-high. we ate, and some even joked about how we'd be spending the night inside the school, we just laughed and never even considered it would become a possibility. we were all still thinking the rain would die down soon, and the water would do down afterwards. we couldn't have been more wrong.



at around 2 pm the water had reached up to the waist, now, we were all just hoping and praying that the rain would stop. but it wouldn't at around 4 past, we'd already submitted ourselves to the fact that we'd be spending the night at school. all the vehicles were submerged in water, the current was strong. it was like, everywhere you look there was water. we were told that wecould have wafers and water from the prev med department and then at around 6 pm we were told to find a place to sleep for the night.. we all went back up to the 6th floor, opened the windows and sat there chatting with each other. the boys went down to get our supply of drinking water. they brought 2 boxes of vitwater, and thus we were for a while contented.. we took group pictures and forced each other to name their top 5 people... it was all fun... a faculty member came up to tell us to go to the library to be with everyone else since tey let outsiders inside the compound. we all sat near the window, with one candle for our light, still, we told ghost stories though some stories were being diverted towards some other topic (i blame mark tecson and his mile-hi club, hahahaha, frequent?), played computer games, sang some songs and then fell asleep.



at dawn we woke up and saw that the water inside the school had gone down, we all went home after waiting for the water to recede.. and i stayed up the whole day to be with my family.. we ate at uncle cheffys, great food, was full to the brim and then went home to get some much needed sleep.

lesson learned... when it's raining always bring the following (list was given by groupmates):

guitar
beat box?
song hits!
water!!! lots of it
food.. chips, cookies
pillow (you never know)
blanket
fully charged laptop/ netbook


Monday, September 14, 2009

life is what you make it

i thought that all i needed in life were my friends from college... they were my rock, the reason for my being happy... we weren't a big group, mind you. just five girls enjoying each others' company (granted we would want to kill each other at some point, but still). that's why when i entered med school without my friend, i was terrified as hell.
the first day was the worst.. not knowing anyone, and not wanting to know anyone.
i wanted to transfer to feu right away and be with my friend, however, mother insisted i go to uerm (i wanted to throw a tantrum but that would have the exact opposite). Anyway, i tried to talk to people but at the back of my mind i had already told myself there's no way in hell i'd be friends with any of these people. whenever my friends would ask me if i'd made any new friends i'd always tell them "i have acquaintances, is that not enough?" or something like "oh, i have pseudo-friends". However, i met a lot of good natured people. granted that most of them are sitting next to me, i still like them. 
i'm still adjusting to their personalities, trying to see where's their boiling point and how far i could push them (and how far i could tolerate their constant teasing, since i'm always on the hot-seat, please find someone else!). i do believe they're people i could hopefully one day say are my true friends, and i hope they'll say the same about me. 
it's a great feeling, making new friends. 
and i'm glad the new friends i made are decent, fun-loving, sincere people. 
oh, well... they say when life gives you lemons you make a lemonade... 
i was certainly out of my comfort zone, but now a have a new set of friends, and i feel like my world is only getting bigger...
life certainly is what you make it out to be.
until next time bloggers...