Wednesday, October 21, 2009

my faith and my heart

for my college friends whom i care for and love dearly.

my morning are not the same as before. when i was in college, i'd take a cab ride to tipol where i'd find madz waiting for me near the canteen. now, when i go to school i take the crammed and packed and poorly air conditioned LRT. when i get to school, i'm usually the first one to arrive and i just sit there silently.

back in college me and madz would eat a very unhealthy breakfast of chips and C2 apple, chatting, pseudo reviewing and waiting for other people to arrive. Now, i have no breakfast buddy, i read the trans in the morning for the quiz that day, but i still wait for people to arrive.

i used to enjoy the afternoon breaks we had, when we ate kwek kwek, fish ball, shawarma (with extra cheese), cheese sticks and the very accessible joey's pizza.. times when we all ate fast and still had time to chat in between chewing our food.. then there were no awkward  silences because we all wanted to talk. here we have the eating before going home ritual, we chat but there are times when everyone will be quiet.

i enjoyed the birthday surprises and how we happily planned what we'd do and when we'd do it.. especially that time when we were at madz's house and kim ang allyl thought they were doing a surprise birthday bash for the other;.. (me and madz are clever people).. now we still have birthday surprises, but i still don't fully know them to be fully involved..

i miss our christmas parties, with the secret monitas a week before the actual party. as well as the part where we form alliaces and break the pact of not telling anyone who you drew. the secret consultations which consisted of what the gift should be as well as trying hard to keep everything a secret. now, i don't know if we'll have christmas parties now do i know if we'll have a pseudo birthday just to get a free scoop of icecream..

i miss our cam-whoring days.. me and kim's fusion, trying to find madz's photogenic side.. and my all time favorite.. candidate for ugliest pico, where i almost always win. now, i'm finding it hard to smile the same as before. because i know that the people i'm with are not the same people as you guys.. and it's so hard not to compare you to them (even now as i am writing this, i'm holding back tears).

you guys are my family, my sisters, my soulmates, the loves of my life.. so missing you would be inevitable, that much i know. but i also know that we are all connected by a special bond, we might not see each other as often as we want. we might only be able to see each other in facebook, but i know our hearts are always connected.

our college days are one of the few treasured memories i have.. and you five are the highlight of it. my friends now in med school are part of a new chapter in my life, they don't mean any less just that i still don't know them all very well.

always look forward, to see your future; often look at your side, to see friends and family who walk beside you; and sometime look back, not for your want of going back but to see just how far you've gone.

i know God guided us all to meet each other, because, though all of us are scarred and broken, we became each others' support. and i know that the new people we meet in our lives are people whom God sent for us to be touched and for us to touch their lives. my heart will always be with you, i left a fragment of my heart with you and i took a piece from yours in return. that's how we become whole, we piece together the fragments of people's hearts and combine them with our own. so i thank you for making me more whole as a person.

redbox and brainfreeze

my day started early... 7 am... ugh.., i hate waking up early especially when i'm not supposed to be at school before 10 am.. i lazed around before finally deciding to bathe and fix my very ug-leh face. for today i wore normal people clothes so as not to stand out too much.. (my friends might abandon me one day for being too weird),, took a cab to school due to the intense heat- i blame global warming and el nino- i was about 30-45 minutes late due to traffic (24 manila style- is an inside joke... don't ask).. finally got to school and enrolled myself for the second semester(ay... hopefully the second semester will pass by smoothly).. afterwards we waited for our guy friends .. who might i add were super late and slow.. but am not ranting... took a cab to trinoma.. me and bine went and bought cupcakes for the birthday celebrants (d and lyca)... -was wanting cupcakes for myself as well... then we went to the ground floor for me to show bine the cutest thing ever... a kimmidoll that i've been wanting for months now.. our friends texted us to go to gerry's grill which we did after first getting lost and almost going to congo grill.. anyway we ate to our hearts content (thanks d and lyca).. was sleepy by that time so i was quiet... then we walked around the mall... me and bine got separated from the rest so we went to national to buy some art crafts.. when we got out of the store everyone was there waiting for us... after a few more stops at some designer stores (i looffff teh oxford shoes!!!) we headed to redbox and sang karaoke.. well jay and ivan sang most of the songs but still... a special mention to aldric for the very convincing and highly entertaining falsetto vocals and iz's  very deceiving manly voice... we were told to get out of the booth about 4 times i thinketh... time sure flies when you're having fun... we dragged ourselves outside and played at timezone... my favorite place on earth... hahaha... spent more than a hundred pesos until finally it was time to go home... took a cab back home... am beat but still had fun ... can't wait for the next time!